Plenary Sessions

Home > Program > Plenary Sessions

Plenary Session I.(Canada)

  • 10:45 - 11:15 am, June 17 (Monday)
  • Kinnear Centre 101+103+105

Dr. Colin van der Kuur

Dr. Colin van der Kuur is the research catalyst for ZEN Graphene Solutions. He coordinates the research of ZEN with both the Industrial Partners and the university collaborators. Colin has extensive experience serving on non-profit boards and professional coaching.


  • ABSTRACT Reducing the impact on our climate and our environment are essential tasks that face world leaders and innovators. The leading technologies that will reduce our environmental footprints include: hydrogen technology, solar technology and renewable energies. Yet, as the world awaits new technology to take larger roles, incremental improvements must also be made to existing technology.
    Nanotechnologies and especially graphene are showing exceptional promise for clean technologies especially in the hydrogen economy, CO2 upgrading and advanced batteries. Dr. Colin van der Kuur will outline some of the advances in clean technologies through graphene research. He will also explain how ZEN Graphene Solutions is developing the capacity to produce industrial quantities of graphene which will offer to the Canadian economy a competitive advantage in the upcoming graphene revolution.

Plenary Session II. (Korean)

  • 10:45 - 11:15 am, June 18 (Tuesday)
  • Kinnear Centre 101+103+105

Dr. Myung-Ja Kim

Dr. Myung-Ja Kim currently serves as the first female President in the history of 50 years of the Korean Federation of Science and Technology Societies and the International Advisory Panel (IAP) of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB). She is also serving as a board member or a special advisor to about forty private and public institutions, such as the Korean Academy of Science and Technology (KAST), the Korean Academy of Environment Science (KAES), the Sustainable Science Society, UN Sustainable Development Solutions Korea Network (SDSN Korea), Community Chest of Korea, Asan Social Welfare Foundation, Vice-president of the Alumni Association of Seoul National University, Visiting Distinguished Professor at KAIST and so forth. Prior to becoming the president of the KOFST, she served as the Minister of Environment (1999-2003) to become the longest serving female minister in the constitutional history of Korea and the Member of the National Assembly (2004-2008) sitting on the Defense Committee as Vice- chairperson and also as Chairperson of the Ethics Committee of the National Assembly. Her numerous scientific publications include the Korean translation of “The Structure of Scientific Revolutions” by Tomas S. Kuhn, and “Entropy”; and published “Science and Modern Society”, “The Oriental and Occidental Tradition of Science and Environmental Movement” and many others. She has been awarded the Changjo Medal for Science and Technology(2015. 4), Seoul National University’s Proud Alumni Award(2015.10), Blue Stripes Order of Service Merit(2004.4), Presidential Award for Excellence in Government Administration Performance received by Ministry of the Environment under Kim’s leadership(2002, 2001) and The Presidential Award for the Advancement of Science and Technology(1994).


Note: Presenting materials will be made in English, but the program will be run in Korean.